Friday’s inaugural meeting of the Committee was presided over by Najam Sethi, who was recently appointed Chairman of the Management Committee of the Pakistan Cricket Board.

After receiving a thorough briefing on the HBL Pakistan Super League 8, which is slated to take place from 13 February to 19 March, the Management Committee decided to include Quetta as the tournament’s fifth venue.

The Committee decided that PCB would work closely with the local administration to upgrade and renovate Bugti Stadium to make sure it is ready to host the HBL PSL 8 matches. Separate discussions would also take place between PCB security experts and local authorities to ensure the safety and security of all participants, officials, and spectators.

Najam Sethi said: “I am delighted that seven years after launching the HBL Pakistan Super League, I am today announcing our commitment to add Bugti Stadium in Quetta as the fifth venue for our marquee event. Bugti Stadium is the home ground of Quetta Gladiators and we still remember the incredible scenes when the Gladiators visited the city after winning the 2019 tournament.

“The passionate cricket fans of Quetta have been waiting for a long to watch high-profile cricket in their backyard and I am pleased that we will now bring HBL PSL matches to their doors. In this relation, I have already spoken with influential officials in the Balochistan province, who have assured me of their complete support from event delivery perspectives.”

The Committee also discussed Peshawar as a potential location for hosting HBL PSL and international matches, and it was decided that matches would be held there provided there were no restrictions placed by the provincial and federal governments and the stadium had facilities of an international standard for cricket, broadcast, spectators, and media.

The Women’s League was also the subject of the first deliberations by the Management Committee; further conversations will follow. The Management Committee decided to let the Pakistan Cup conclude on January 3 in the best interest of the participants and event after discussing the domestic cricket structure under the 2014 PCB Constitution.

It was decided that Najam Sethi, Shakil Sheikh, and Haroon Rashid would develop the early draft of the domestic structure, which corresponds to the PCB Constitution 2014 and share it with the Committee for further debate.

Comments are closed.

Pin It