According to the Inter-Services Public Relations, the newly appointed Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee (CJCSC), General Sahir Shamshad Mirza, took office on Sunday in an elaborate ceremony conducted at Joint Staff Headquarters, Rawalpindi (ISPR).

Gen. Mirza was saluted by a well-dressed combined services guard as soon as he arrived at the location. According to a statement from the military’s media department, he also examined the guard of honour and march-past. The ceremony was attended by a sizable number of active-duty and retired officers from the three services, as well as chairmen of the joint chiefs of staff committee.

After Gen (ret) Nadeem Raza, the previous chairman of the joint chiefs of staff committee, put up his uniform a day earlier, Gen Mirza assumed command. After 41 years of distinguished military service, Gen. (Ret.) Raza announced his retirement on November 26.

After President Arif Alvi accepted the appointment and signed the summary, Gen. Mirza was informed by CJCSC earlier this week.

With immediate effect, President Dr. Arif Alvi promoted Lieutenant General Sahir Shamshad Mirza HI(M) to the rank of General and named him Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee, effective November 27, 2022. With immediate effect, the President promoted Lieutenant General Syed Asim Munir HI(M) to the rank of General and named him Chief of Army Staff, effective November 29, 2022, according to a statement from the President’s Secretariat.

It further stated that the elevation and appointment were made in accordance with Articles 243(4)(a) and (b) and 48(1) of the Pakistani Constitution. The Pakistan Army Act of 1952’s Sections 8-A and 8-D should be studied alongside both articles.

Gen Mirza and Gen Asim Munir have been named as Pakistan’s new Chief of Army Staff (COAS), with Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa, the existing COAS, slated to retire on

Comments are closed.

Pin It